Chapter One

It seems like a long time since I last added anything to this blog, and even longer since I finished my PhD.

I’ve decided that I might as well put the Word documents online, as it saves people having to email me to ask for copies.

The first chapter is available at this link.

In some ways it is quite a narrow PhD thesis. It examines the fact that17th-century printsellers placed advertisements for portrait prints in newspapers at times when the sitters were in the news. But it is also a very broad piece of work. It takes in a huge slice of current affairs from the the 1660s up to 1714. It also touches on the fact that portrait prints were certainly not the only consumer goods to be marketed in conjunction with news events.

2 thoughts on “Chapter One

  1. Dear Claire,

    I am really pleased that I have come across your website, and to have the chance to find out about your phd studies. I am working on a project called ‘Court, Country, City: British Art 1660-1735′ which is a joint venture of Tate and the University of York.

    My current work involves producing a database of art sales (mostly auctions) during our period, based in the main on newspaper advertising. In the course of trawling the Burney database, I have inevitably picked up other art-related notices, and I was planning to use these (among many other sources) to produce a map of the London art world.

    I wondered if you would mind me using some of the adverts that you have placed online in this venture? I would of course acknowledge your help. Are there any newspaper transcriptions that you did not post on the blog?

    I don’t know if you are still involved in this area of history but if you would like to be in touch with our project, do please give me your email, mine is richard.stephens@tate.org.uk .

    Best wishes
    Richard Stephens

Leave a Reply

